Nana Picks 39 Deputy Ministers …10 Women,11 Returnees

President Nana Akufo-Addo has submitted to the Speaker of Parliament, the names of 39 persons he has nominated as deputy ministers for some 24 ministries.

The Speaker, Alban Bagbin, would get list to the Appointments’ Committee to vet the said nominees.

A statement signed by Eugene Arhin, Director of Operations at the Presidency said: “President Akufo-Addo is hopeful that, just as was done for his Ministers, Parliament will, on a bi-partisan basis, expedite the approval of his Deputy Ministerial nominees, so they can join the government forthwith, and assist in the delivery of his mandate for his second term in office.”

Out of the 39 nominees, 11served as deputies during the first term of President Akufo-Addo and have found their names maintained again as deputies. Eight out of that 11 have been maintained at their previous ministries while three of them have been shifted to other ministries

10 of the nominees are women and 34 are Members of Parliament.


The eight nominees returning to their previous positions are: Abena Osei-Asare [Finance Ministry], Mohammed Amin Adam [Energy Ministry], William Owuraku Aidoo [Energy Ministry], Osei Bonsu Amoah [Local Government Ministry], Augustine Collins Ntim [Local Government Ministry
Tina Mensah-Health Ministry], Benito Owusu Bio [Lands Ministry] and
Bright Wireko-Brobby [Employment Ministry].

Three of the returnees who were deputies but have been given new ministries also include:
Nana Dokua Asiamah Adjei, who was at the Information Ministry but now serves at the Trade Ministry.

Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah, who was at the Regional Re-organisation Ministry but has been moved to the Local Government Ministry;

Gifty Twum-Ampofo, who was at the Gender Ministry but has been moved to the Education Ministry


The list of females who made it to the selection list include: Abena Osei-Asare [Finance], Nana Dokua Asiamah Adjei [Trade and Industry], Diana Asonaba Dapaah [Office of Attorney General & Ministry of Justice], Gifty Twum-Ampofo [Education], and Tina Gifty Mensah [Health], Mavis Nkansah-Boadu [Roads & Highways], Naana Eyiah Quansah [Interior], Ama Pomaa Boateng [Communications & Digitalisation], Lariba Zuweira Abudu [Gender, Children & Social Protection], and Fatimatu Abubakar [Information].

Below is the full statement issued by Mr. Eugene Arhin:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button