Mark Gets Deputy Ministerial Job

The Interim President of the Creative Arts Agency, Mr Mark Okraku Mantey has been nominated the Deputy Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Mr OkrakuMantey’s nomination was contained in a release signed by the Acting Director of Communications at the Office of the President, Mr Eugene Arhin.

However, like the other 38 persons who were nominated as Deputy Ministers for other portfolios, Mr Mantey appointment is subject to approval by the Appointment’s Committee of Parliament.

About Okraku Mantey

Mark Okraku Mantey started music production in 1996 as the Chief Executive Officer of Slip Music.

He worked with artistes such as Kojo Ashakan, Felix Bell, Ohene Kissi, Lord Kenya, Daasebre Gyamena, Adane Best, Akyeame, Okuraseni Samuel, Bless, and Kumi Guitar.

Others include Nana Yaw Asare, Jamson, Kudjo Sasu, and Nana Quame, Swazzy B, Joe Frazier, among others.

Mr Okraku Mantey is currently the Head of Programmes at Accra-based Hitz FM.

The Politics

For the past years, Okraku Mantey has been actively involved in politics, after openly declaring his support for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and championing creative arts activities through the Creative Arts for Change, a group of creatives that rallied behind the party.

In 2017, when the New Patriotic Party assumed power, he was appointed as the President of the Creative Arts Council, an institution that was instrumental in the passage of the Creative Arts Bill.

After Nana Akufo-Addo’s re-election as President, some people in the creative arts industry insisted that an arts-inclined person should be made the deputy Minister of the sector.

Some names that came up apart from Mark Okraku Mantey for the position were Bice ‘Obour’ Osei Kuffour – former President of the Musicians Union of Ghana (MUSIGA) and 2020 parliamentary aspirant of the NPP in the Asante Akyem South constituency, Akwasi Agyemang – Chief Executive Office of the Ghana Tourism Authority and Juliet Asante – Filmmaker and Executive Secretary of the National Film Authority.

Others were Kojo Frimpong – broadcast journalist, Kwabena Okyere Darko – Member of Parliament for the Takoradi constituency and James Korsah Brown – talent manager and 2020 NPP parliamentary aspirant for Mfantseman Constituency.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button