Akufo-Addo, Bawumia sworn into office for second term

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has been sworn into office as Ghana’s President, following his victory in a keenly contested presidential election.

Nana Akufo-Addo will be serving his second term as President, having served his first four-year term between January 2016 and January 2021.

Taking the presidential oath of office and oath of allegiance, Nana Akufo Addo said: “I will be faithful and true to the Republic of Ghana. I will at all times preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution of Ghana.”

Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia has also been sworn in as Vice President of Ghana.

President Akufo-Addo won the election with 51.3 percent of the votes while the National Democratic Congress’ (NDC) Presidential Candidate, John Dramani Mahama followed with 47.7 percent of the valid votes cast.

The NDC has however failed to accept the results, attributing its decision to alleged malfeasance in the polls.

Mr. Mahama’s petition is seeking among others, a declaration from the Supreme Court to the effect that, “the purported declaration of the results of the 2020 Presidential Election on the 9th day of December 2020 is unconstitutional, null and void and of no effect whatsoever.”

The swearing-in ceremony was held in accordance with Article 57(3) of the 1992 Constitution which states that “Before assuming office the President shall take and subscribe before Parliament the oath of allegiance and the presidential oath set out in the Second Schedule to this Constitution.”

Controversy ahead of swearing-in 

The processes leading to the swearing-in ceremony were marked by some interesting developments

The issue of allowing the MP-elect for Assin North, Richard Quayson to vote in the election came up as the Clerk who superintended over the voting process indicated that he would not allow him to cast his ballot because a court injunction had been granted to bar him from holding himself out as the MP.

The debate over whether or not he should be allowed to vote was subsequently resolved and the NDC MP was allowed to cast his ballot.

During the counting of the ballots, the Member of Parliament for Tema West and former Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Carlos Ahenkorah also ran to the table and snatched the uncounted ballots of Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye and attempted to bolt with it.

The Chief Whip on the NDC side and MP for Asawase, Alhaji Muntaka Mubarak immediately went after him and secured the ballots.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button