Towards victory 2024: NPP set for parliamentary primaries in orphan constituencies

The governing New Patriotic Party ( NPP) will take another major step towards victory in the 2024 general elections when it holds parliamentary primaries in 111 constituencies where the party has no sitting MPs otherwise known as orphan constituencies tomorrow and Sunday.

After weeks of campaigning, the candidates vying for the seats , will battle it out in what is expected to ensure the NPP puts its best foot forward in reclaiming the seats lost in 2020 and get absolute majority in the next parliament.

Regional breakdown
The regional breakdown of the constituencies are, Ashanti, 3; Bono 6; Bono East, 8; Central, 11; Eastern, 6; Greater Accra, 17; North East, 2; Northern, 7; Oti, 7; Savannah, 4; Upper East, 10; Upper West, 7; Volta, 13; Western, 5; Western North, 4; Ahafo, 1.

The party has also released the list of approved voting centres. These were communicated in a press statement by the General Secretary, Justin Kodua Frimpong.

In the 2020 elections, the NPP won 136 seats whilst the NDC won 136 and independent candidate, one seat.
“All stakeholders are kindly entreated to comply with these provisions to ensure a smooth and transparent process,” the statement from the NPP said.

Ahead of the elections, the party issued guidelines for the conduct of the polls. It said the elections will be held in the constituency capitals .

There will be a constituency Parliamentary Elections Committee made up of the Chairperson of the Constituency Council of Elders as Chair, Constituency Chairperson, Secretary, an elderly woman in the constituency appointed by the Constituency Executive Committee as well as a Research and Elections Officer.

The election centres will be the same locations as those employed in the flag bearer elections. Constituency Executive Committees were however, advised to coordinate with their respective Regional Executive Committees should a venue change be deemed necessary.

In cases where the Constituency Chairperson is a contestant, the party, the First Vice Chairman will assume the role on the committee. Also, if the secretary is a contestant, the deputy will undertake the responsibilities.

Fierce competition
Judging from the campaigns over the past weeks, tomorrow’s polls will be fiercely contested. Across the constituencies where the elections will be held, the candidates have left no stone unturned to position themselves as the best for the party going into the 2024 general elections. But, every constituency have their own dynamics , which must be looked at in the context of possible winners.

Ashanti Region
In the Ashanti Region, eight persons will contest in the three constituencies. For the Asawase constituency, Hajia Zainab, Osman Yusif and Manaf Ibrahim will battle it out.

Three persons will also contest in Ejura Sekyeredumase. They are Mohammed Amin Yakubu, Gifty Ndoma and Kingsley Nana Owusu. For Sekyere Afram Plains Hamidu Suleimana and George Akom will slug it out.

Greater Accra
In the Greater Accra region 48 persons will contest in the 17 constituencies.
The candidates for Adentan are, a former Ministry of Energy PRO, Kwasi Obeng-Fosu; Winfred Nartey Obimpeh, and Akosua Manu.

Ablekuma Central has a Deputy Director of Communications at the Office of the President, Jefferson Sackey; a businessman, Collins Amoah; former MP, Ebenezer Nii Narh Nartey, and Samuel Brako-Amoafo.

The Odododiodio Constituency will witness a two horse race between Nii Lantey Bannerman and Mannaf Sowah.
In Okaikoi North, Kenneth Agyei Kuranchie, Prince Owusu Mensah, Alberta Afia Akoto, Stephen Kofi Adepa Nyarko, former MP, Fuseini Issah, and Deputy Trade Minister Ama Dokua Asiamah will fight it out.

There will not be elections in 17 other orphan constituencies because each of them have one candidate. The constituencies are Suaman in the Western North Region; Anlo and North Dayi in the Volta Region; Nadowli/Kaleo in the Upper West Region; Sagnarigu and Kumbungu in the Northern Region; Builsa North, Pusiga and Bolgatanga East in the Upper East Region.

The rest are Tema East, La Dadekotopon and Ada in the Greater Accra Region; Buem and Biakoye in the Oti Region; Amenfi West in the Western Region; New Edubiase in the Ashanti Region and Upper Manya Krobo in the Eastern Region.

Related Articles

Back to top button