AFCON 2021 Qualifies: CK Akonnor names 32 locally-based players to begin preparation

Head coach of the Black Stars of Ghana, Charles Kwablan Akonnor has called up 32 locally-based players for a training camp ahead of Ghana’s AFCON 2021 qualifiers.

Ghana is scheduled to take on South Africa and São Tomé and Príncipe in rounds five and six of the 2022 AFCON qualifiers respectively next month.

According to Coach Akonnor, these selected players are the best in the country and have equal chances of representing the country at the highest level.

Among the players called are Great Olympics captain, Gladson Awako, Kotoko fullbacks, Ibrahim Moro and Christopher Nettey, Medeama’s Justice Blay, and January’s GPL player of the month Diawusie Taylor of Karela United.

The team will later be trimmed and joined by other foreign-based players for the two qualifiers.

The called up players are expected to report to the M Plaza Hotel in Accra on Monday, February 15, 2021, before departing for the training camp.

The following are the players selected by C.K Akonnor:

Goalkeepers: Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars), Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko), Bawa Lord Martey (Elmina Sharks), Eric Ofori Antwi (Medeama SC)

Central Defenders: Haruna Jamal Deen (Great Olympics), Yussif Mubarik (Asante Kotoko), Ganiyu Ismail (Asante Kotoko), Konadu Yiadom (WAFA), Mohammed Alhassan (Hearts of Oak)

Full Backs: Amoako Kwadwo (Ashantigold SC), Christopher Nettey (Asante Kotoko), Ibrahim Moro (Asante Kotoko), Dennis Korsah Akoumah (Ebusua Dwarfs)

Midfielders: Justice Blay (Medeama SC), Rashid Nortey (Medeama SC), Salifu Moro (Bechem United), Gladson Awako (Great Olympics), Michael Otou (Great Olympics), George Asamoah (Ebusua Dwarfs), Ben Acquah (Ebusua Dwarfs)

Attacking Midfielders: Yaw Annor (Ashantigold SC), Salifu Ibrahim (Techiman Eleven Wonders), Maxwell Abbey (Great Olympics), Augustine Boakye (WAFA), Michael Agbekornu (Dreams FC)

Strikers: Kwame Pepprah (King Faisal), Diawusie Taylor (Karela United FC), Kwame Opoku (Asante Kotoko), Joseph Esso (Dreams FC), Evans Etti (Accra Lions FC), Andy Kumi Francis (Unistar Academy), Welbeck Takyi (Tano Bofoakwa)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button