It’s final, no run-off on Saturday, Final 5 to battle for NPP presidential ticket settled

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has finally settled on the five aspirants to contest for the ticket to lead the party in the 2024 presidential election.

This was after Boakye Agyarko withdrew from the September 2, 2023 run-off of the super delegates conference, which was scheduled to decide the tie between him and Francis Addai-Nimoh.

The five contestants who will battle it out in the November 4 National Delegates Congress are Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, Alan Kyerematen, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Francis Addai Nimo.

Run-off cancelled
The NPP Presidential Elections Committee announced the cancellation of the run-off, taking into consideration the withdrawal of Boakye Agyarko from the race.

“We take notice of your decision to withdraw from the contest and therefore the run-off election scheduled for Saturday, September 2, 2023, will no longer be held,” Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, Chairman of the NPP’s Presidential Elections Committee, said in a letter addressed to Boakye Agyarko.

Boakye Agyarko pulled out of the run-off after accusing the party of breaching provisions in its constitution. “I refuse to be a part of such an act that seeks to unjustly truncate a previously agreed upon process, and cannot be part of what is about to be done on Saturday, 2nd September 2023. I cannot, with a clear conscience make such an impermissible concession to such an errant decision. I, therefore, respectfully, serve this notice to refrain from such a contest. As always, I wish the party well,” he said in a letter addressed to Prof. Oquaye on August 31, 2023.

Party acted properly
Commenting on the development, the spokesperson of the Presidential Elections Committee, Alexander Afenyo Markin, said the position by Boakye Agyarko that the party acted unconstitutionally is untenable.
“The national council acted within the constitution of the party,’ he explained.

Related Articles

Back to top button