10 women make it onto Nana Addo’s deputy ministerial list

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has named 10 women as part of the nominees for various deputy ministerial positions in his second term.

The list was released on Wednesday, April 21, 2021.

In all, 39 nominees were announced for 24 portfolios.

The female deputy ministers-designate include Abena Osei-Asare [Finance], Nana Dokua Asiamah Adjei [Trade and Industry],  Diana Asonaba Dapaah [Office of Attorney General & Ministry of Justice], Gifty Twum-Ampofo [Education], and Tina Gifty Mensah [Health]

Others are  Mavis Nkansah-Boadu [Roads & Highways], Naana Eyiah Quansah [Interior], Ama Pomaa Boateng [Communications & Digitalisation], Lariba Zuweira Abudu [Gender, Children & Social Protection], and Fatimatu Abubakar [Information].

Two of the nominees – Abena Osei-Asare and Tina Mensah – maintained their portfolios from the president’s first term.

Gifty Twum-Ampofo and Nana Dokua Asiamah Adjei, who previously served as Deputy Ministers of Gender and Information have been moved to Education and Trade respectively.

A statement from the presidency indicated that President Akufo-Addo was hopeful that, “just as was done for his Ministers, Parliament will, on a bi-partisan basis, expedite the approval of his Deputy Ministerial nominees, so they can join the Government forthwith, and assist in the delivery of his mandate for his second term in office.”

The list had been highly anticipated since the vetting of Ken Ofori-Atta, who was the last minister nominee to appear before Parliament’s Appointments Committee on March 26.

The ministries of Trade, Local Government and Energy have three deputy minister-nominees.

A former deputy Minister of Finance, Charles Adu-Boahen, was also nominated as the Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance.

The nominees also feature first time Members of Parliament like Hassan Tampuli and John Ampontuah Kumah.

Mohammed Amin Adam, William Owuraku Aidoo have been maintained at the Energy Ministry, Osei Bonsu Amoah at Local Government, Decentralization & Rural Development and Tina Mensah at the Health Minister, among others.

The list was submitted to the Speaker of Parliament today.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button